US Legislation

IT Asset Disposal LegislationTo create a better environment for sustainability, so far over half the states in the U.S. has passed legislation regarding the recycling of e-waste and/or banning electronic waste from landfills. Unwanted computers, IT assets, and other electronic goods can sometimes contain hazardous materials, such as the lead in CRT monitor glass, which can damage the environment.

As of 2015, Twenty eight states, plus the District of Columbia have passed laws to prevent e-waste from ending up in landfills and/or electronic waste recycling procedures. California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin have legislation in place. For more information, contact your local solid waste department.

Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee and Wyoming do not yet have state legislation in place that mandates recycling of e-waste, however, residents in these states do still have access to e-waste recyclers if they choose environmental responsibility on their own.